Underworld Movies In Order Of Release


The Underworld movies follow a bunch of characters who are caught up in an age-old battle between vampires and werewolves, with the main focus being on the super-cool Selene, an elite vampire warrior who protects a human who has been marked for experimentation by the lycans. 

Critics were underwhelmed by the films, citing the confusing storylines and the overwrought seriousness of them all, as their biggest problems. Movie audiences didn’t seem to care, however, as while these films weren’t as thrilling as they could have been, they still did reasonably well at the box office. 

In this article, we list every live-action Underworld movie in release date order. Which of these is your favourite? Let us know in the comments section below.



US Release Date: September 19, 2003

Worldwide Box Office: $95.7 million

Director: Len Wiseman

Metascore: 42

Main Cast:

Kate Beckinsale (Selene), Scott Speedman (Michael), Shane Brolly (Kraven), Michael Sheen (Lucian), Bill Nighy (Viktor), Sophia Myles (Erika)

Synopsis (from IMDB):

Selene, a vampire warrior, is entrenched in a conflict between vampires and werewolves, while falling in love with Michael, a human who is sought by werewolves for unknown reasons.

Movie Tagline:

An immortal battle for supremacy. 

Underworld Evolution

US Release Date: January 20, 2006

Worldwide Box Office: $113.4 million

Director: Len Wiseman

Metascore: 36

Main Cast:

Kate Beckinsale (Selene), Scott Speedman (Michael), Bill Nighy (Viktor), Tony Curran (Marcus), Derek Jacobi (Corvinus), Shane Brolly (Kraven), Michael Sheen (Lucian)

Synopsis (from IMDB):

Picking up directly from the previous movie, vampire warrior Selene and the half werewolf Michael hunt for clues to reveal the history of their races and the war between them.

Movie Tagline:

A New Race, A New Battle, A New Hero…

Underworld: Rise of the Lycans

US Release Date: January 23, 2009

Worldwide Box Office: $91.4 million

Director: Patrick Tatopoulos

Metascore: 44

Main Cast:

Rhona Mitra (Sonja), Michael Sheen (Lucian), Bill Nighy (Viktor), Steven Mackintosh (Tannis), Kevin Grevioux (Raze)

Synopsis (from IMDB):

A prequel centred on the origins of the centuries-old feud between the race of aristocratic vampires and their former slaves, the Lycans.

Movie Tagline:

Every war has a beginning. 

Underworld Awakening

US Release Date: January 20, 2012

Worldwide Box Office: $160.1 million

Directors: Måns Mårlind & Björn Stein

Metascore: 39

Main Cast:

Kate Beckinsale (Selene), Michael Ealy (Detective Sebastian), India Eisley (Eve), Stephen Rea (Dr. Jacob Lane), Theo James (David), Charles Dance (Thomas)

Synopsis (from IMDB):

When human forces discover the existence of the Vampire and Lycan clans, a war to eradicate both species commences. The vampire warrior Selene leads the battle against humankind.

Movie Tagline:

Vengeance Returns.

Underworld: Blood Wars

US Release Date: November 24, 2016

Worldwide Box Office: $81.1 million

Director: Anna Foerster

Metascore: 23

Main Cast:

Kate Beckinsale (Selene), Theo James (David), Tobias Menzies (Marius), Charles Dance (Thomas), Lara Pulver (Semira)

Synopsis (from IMDB):

Vampire death dealer Selene (Kate Beckinsale) fights to end the eternal war between the Lycan clan and the Vampire faction that betrayed her.

Movie Tagline:

Protect the bloodline. 

Which is your favourite movie in the Underworld franchise? Let us know in the comments below.


Leave a comment