Presidents of Russia Timeline 1991-Present Day

President of Russia Vladimir Putin

A Timeline of Presidents of Russia, also known as the Russian Federation from 1991 to present day

See also:
Leaders of the Soviet Union 1922 – 1991
Tsars/ Emperors or Russia 1547 – 1917


Boris Yeltsin 10th July 1991 – 31st December 1999
The first elected President of Russia, also known as the Russian Federation, which was formed following the fall of the Soviet Union. He was re-elected in 1996 but resigned in 1999. Vladimir Putin took over as caretaker President until elections could be held.
Vladimir Putin 7th May 2000 – 7th May 2008
After serving as caretaker President following Yeltsin’s resignation, Putin was elected President in May 2000 and re-elected in 2004. He was unable to stand for election in 2008 due to a two term limit.
Dmitry Medvedev 7th May 2008 – 7th May 2012
United Russia
During his period as President of Russia, Medvedev tried to modernise Russia. He also agreed a nuclear arms reduction treaty with the United States. He declared his intention not to stand for election in 2012 to allow Vladimir Putin to return.
Vladimir Putin 7th May 2012 – Present
United Russia/ Independent
Putin was elected President of Russia for a third term but there were widespread protests of election rigging. He was also criticised for his anti-homosexual stance prior to the 2014 Winter Olympics. Vladimir Putin was instrumental in taking control of the Crimea from Ukraine. He also backed Syrian President Bashar al-Assad in the face of World-wide condemnation of the Syrian President’s treatment of his people. Putin has also been accused of interfering in elections worldwide. He was re-elected in May 2018 with a significant majority.


Published Sept 11, 2019 @ 11:19 am – Updated – [last-modified]

Harvard Reference for this page:

Heather Y Wheeler. (2019 – 2020). Presidents of Russia 1991 to Present Day. Last accessed [date]

Leave a comment