His Dark Materials Books In Order Of Publication

His Dark Materials is a trilogy of fantasy novels authored by Philip Pullman. The tale chronicles the coming-of-age journey of two kids, namely Lyra Belacqua and Will Parry. We accompany the protagonists on their exhilarating escapades as they traverse a sequence of parallel universes.

The characters in the tale are going to face witches, armoured bears, fallen angels, and spectres that consume souls. Ultimately, the destiny of those who are living as well as the deceased will be dependent on their actions.

His Dark Materials has garnered significant recognition as well as praise from readers for more than two decades. This experience will prompt you to critically examine your existing knowledge about the world and provoke contemplation on the elusive truths that may lie beyond apparent perception.

In this article, we’ll go through Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials books in order of publication. Which is your favourite? Let us know in the comments below.

The Golden Compass

First Published – 1995
Type – Fiction
Genre- Fantasy Epic, coming-of-age
Author: Phillip Pullman

Synopsis: Lyra is rushing to the cold, far North, where witch clans and armoured bears rule. North, where the Gobblers take the children they steal–including her friend Roger. North, where her fearsome uncle Asriel is trying to build a bridge to a parallel world.

Can one small girl make a difference in such great and terrible endeavours? This is Lyra: a savage, a schemer, a liar, and as fierce and true a champion as Roger or Asriel could want–but what Lyra doesn’t know is that to help one of them will be to betray the other.

The Subtle Knife

First Published – 1997
Type – Fiction
Genre- Fantasy Epic, coming-of-age
Author: Phillip Pullman

Synopsis: She had asked: What is he? A friend or an enemy? The alethiometer answered: He is a murderer. When she saw the answer, she relaxed at once.

Lyra finds herself in a shimmering, haunted otherworld – Cittàgazze, where soul-eating Spectres stalk the streets and wingbeats of distant angels sound against the sky.

But she is not without allies: twelve-year-old Will Parry, fleeing for his life after taking another’s, has also stumbled into this strange new realm.

On a perilous journey from world to world, Lyra and Will uncover a deadly secret: an object of extraordinary and devastating power.

And with every step, they move closer to an even greater threat – and the shattering truth of their own destiny.

The Amber Spyglass

First Published – 2000
Type – Fiction
Genre- Fantasy Epic, coming-of-age
Author: Phillip Pullman

Synopsis: Will is the bearer of the knife. Now, accompanied by angels, his task is to deliver that powerful, dangerous weapon to Lord Asriel – by the command of his dying father.

But how can he go looking for Lord Asriel when Lyra is gone? Only with her help can he fathom the myriad plots and intrigues that beset him.

The two great powers of the many worlds are lining up for war, and Will must find Lyra, for together they are on their way to battle, an inevitable journey that will even take them to the world of the dead.

So there we have it! His Dark Materials Book series in order of publication. Have you read any? Which are your favourites? Let us know in the comments below!

Leave a comment